Team USA Announces 2020 British Junior Open Squad

The 2019 Team USA delegation at the British Junior Open.

Fifty-three Americans will represent Team USA and take on the world’s top juniors at the 2020 Dunlop British Junior Open, January 2-6, at Birmingham University and Edgbastion Priory Club in Birmingham.

2020 marks the sixth annual Team USA trip to the BJO with the top-ranked U.S. players competing across ten divisions—boys’ and girls’ U11, U13, U15, U17 and U19.

Select matches will be live streamed from the glass court at Birmingham University and courts 1-4 at Edgbastion Priory Club. Streaming, match times, locations and draws will be available on the British Junior Open website closer to the event. Preliminary seedings will be available in early December.

The U.S. delegation includes three-time U.S. junior champion Marina Stefanoni. Last year, Stefanoni became the first American to win a British Junior Open title since Olivia Batchford Clyne in 2007 in the GU17 division. Team USA across the board produced record results in 2019 with nine players reaching the quarterfinals, and thirty-three players advancing to the round of sixteen.

Team USA will be led by US Squash Director of National Teams Adam Hamill, and the coaching staff will consist of Simba Muwhati, Luke Butterworth, Alicia Rodriguez, Supreet Singh, Jonathan Geekie, Chanel Erasmus, Laurent Elriani, Charlie Johnson, Chris Longman and Annette Pilling.

“We are excited to be returning again with a strong Team USA contingent,” Hamill said. “The competition to qualify for Team USA increases every year, ensuring we are continually sending our strongest players to compete in the event. Team USA results at the British Junior Open over the last few years have displayed the strength and depth of US Squash. We look forward to building on previous years success’ and working towards our goal of ‘always being on the podium’”

View the Team USA roster by age division below:

Reghan McLaughlin
Kaitlyn Vahlsing
Charlotte Mehnert
Layla Gupta
Charlotte Sze

Samantha Jaffe
Dixon Hill
Eliza Schuster
Alexandra Jaffe
Charlotte Pastel
Eedha Mehta
Ava Lin Jr.

Caroline Eielson
Caroline Fouts
Khushi Kukadia
Emma Trauber
Riya Navani

Lucia Stefanoni
Joy Qu
Josephine Klein
Abigail Schuster
Jhansi Bharvsar

Marina Stefanoni
Serena Daniel
Katherine Glaser
Binney Huffman
Emma Carney

Carlton Capella
Brendan Tagliarini
Aiden Yun
Jacob Price
Vivaan Mehta

Christian Capella
Ilya Kipkalov
Jack Elriani
Hart Robertson
Aariz Ahmed

Andrew Glaser
Hollis Robertson
Arnav Tevatia
Rishi Srivastava
Mason Menin

Shaam Gambhir
Tad Carney
John Paul Tew
Zain Ahmed
Rohan Iyer

Dillon Huang
Thomas Rosini
Nicholas Spizzirri
Brian Leonard
Myles McIntyre