Eight Americans Enter Qatar Classic

Eight Americans travel to Qatar to compete in the second PSA Platinum event of the season–the QTerminals Qatar Classic, September 9-16 in Doha.

Team USA’s four top-twenty-ranked women enter the inaugural women’s draw and will join the field on Sunday, September 10, after receiving first round byes.

World No. 5 Amanda Sobhy, world No. 9 Olivia Fiechter and world No. 14 Olivia Blatchford Clyne will all play on adjacent club courts at 1:30pm local time, 6:30am ET.

One week after reaching the semifinals of the inaugural Paris Open, Amanda Sobhy enters the season’s second platinum event as the seven seed with a first round match against Egypt’s Zeina Mickawy or Salma Eltayeb on court one.

Fiechter joins Sobhy in the draw’s top quarter and will take on either Egypt’s Hana Moataz or Hong Kong’s Lee Ka Yi on court 3. Blatchford Clyne awaits either Egypt’s Sana Ibrahim or India’s Sivasangari Subramaniam on court 2.

After a major upset over world No. 3 Hania El Hamammy in Paris, Sabrina Sobhy opens up her Qatar debut with a difficult second round match up against Egypt’s world No. 10 Rowan Elaraby on court 3 at 5:30pm local time, 10:30am ET.

Four Americans enter the men’s first round on September 10. After pulling off a first round up set in Paris that sent him up two places in the rankings, world No. 48 Timmy Brownell will aim to replicate his Paris Open first-round upset win against world No. 34 Adrian Waller at on court three at 2:15pm local time, 7:15am ET.

World No. 37 Shahjahan Khan will bid to reach his second straight Platinum second round against England’s world No. 42 George Parker on court two at 4:45pm local time, 9:45am ET.

World No. 46 Todd Harrity and World No. 53 Faraz Khan will both look to record their first Platinum wins of the season. Harrity will face Scotland’s world No. 27 Greg Lobban in a rematch of his Paris Open first round loss on court one at 6:15pm local time, 11:15am ET. Khan will take on Egypt’s Mohamed El Sherbini on court one at 2:15pm local time, 7:15am ET.

Watch all matches on squash.tv. For more tournament coverage visit psaworldtour.com.