Sobhy (l) against Blatchford in Sunday's U.S. Women's Championship Final.
Sobhy (l) against Blatchford in Sunday’s U.S. Women’s Championship Final.

A ceremony following the 2016 U.S. Women’s Championship final at Harvard University Saturday evening included a presentation of the prestigious United States Olympic Committee Player of the Year Nominee Award to U.S. National Team member and world No. 7 Amanda Sobhy.

Sobhy made history in August during the 2015 Pan American Games by becoming the first squash player to win three gold medals since squash was added to the Games in 1995. As a team, the Team USA squash delegation recorded its best finish at the quadrennial games winning six total medals, and topping the medal standings for squash.

sobhy coach edit crop
Ganek Family US Squash Head National Coach Paul Assaiante presents Sobhy with the USOC Athlete of the Year Award.

Sobhy went undefeated throughout the singles, doubles and team competitions in the Games at Toronto. She defeated teammate Olivia Blatchford in the Individual finals, earned doubles gold with partner Natalie Grainger, and played No. 1 for the gold medal-winning team

Sobhy’s three gold medals and the overall six team medals contributed to Team USA’s overall victory at the 2015 Pan American Games.

“It’s an honor to be nominated for Athlete of the Year against all of these other sports and amazing athletes, ” Sobhy said.

“Squash is such a small sport and doesn’t get the recognition it deserves so I’m just trying to do the best I can for my country, squash in the U.S., and raising its profile on the world stage.”

The award came after Sobhy won her third national title at Harvard University, her alma mater. It is the first time Sobhy has received the award.

The USOC Athlete of the Year is given for the most outstanding performance by a Team USA member in international competition. Since 1991, it has honored such legendary players as Mark Talbott, Demer Holleran, Ellie Pierce, Jeff Stanley and last year’s recipient, Timmy Brownell, who was the first junior to receive the award since Michelle Quibell in 2001.