The 2012 American Can-Am team.
The 2012 American Can-Am team.

The fourth biannual Canadian-American Cup, a squash doubles competition between the United States and Canada, begins Thursday evening at the Atwater Club in Montreal, Canada.

Referred to as the “Ryder Cup of Squash”, the first such event was held in Boston, MA, in 2008 with the Americans winning in convincing fashion. In 2010, the Canadian’s won the Men’s division with the U.S. winning the Women’s and Overall titles. The most recent iteration in 2012 saw the Canadians come from behind on the final day of match play to win the Overall title in Buffalo, NY.

Their respective captains, based upon a player/teams ranking using the North American rankings calculated by Squash Canada and US Squash, chose the Can-Am teams. Those players who win the U.S. National Doubles tournament, as well as those players ranked No. 1 in their age group on their respective walls are automatically invited to play.

Scores will be input live on the Can-Am Cup tournament homepage. Match play begins at 6:30pm local time Thursday evening.

[jbutton size=”large” color=”blue” link=”” newpage=”yes”]Can-Am Cup Tournament Page[/jbutton]

Visit the US Squash Smugmug page for images of the 2012 Can-Am Cup.

[alpine-phototile-for-smugmug src=”user_gallery” ugal=”38324704″ ugalkey=”VG65S2″ imgl=”smugmug” style=”gallery” row=”16″ grwidth=”800″ grheight=”600″ num=”200″ size=”Th” align=”center” max=”100″]